Motorola/Cambium PT 650

I am an engineer from South Africa and currently working on one of the project that has Motorola PTP 650 MW unlicensed band. There is no visibility of these radio on the NMS.

We are proposing an OSS as there is multi vendor MW links and other routers and switches.To procure NMS for each is not a feasible option. What i am looking at is to find if these MW links have

IP/MPLS routing capabilities: BEP1 or BEP2 features.

QOS

IGP routing protocol

Security features and network threat protection

NTP

1+1 link HSB and upgrade from 1+0 to 1+1

what capacity can it carry wrt QAM

If not all of these or any missing what can you suggest. I would like to propose a better MW link that caters fo all the above solutions.

Hi Ally,

I'll try and answer all the questions. If I miss something, please come back to us.

The PTP 650 series of Ethernet bridges for unlicensed bands was created and continues to be supported by Cambium Networks. PTP 650 was introduced after we became an independent company, and PTP 650 was never a Motorola product.

PTP 650 has been superseded by PTP 670. It you are purchasing additional links you should look at PTP 670.

A PTP 650 link operates as a transparent Ethernet bridge, meaning that Ethernet frames received at the wired port at one ODU are transmitted unchanged at the wired port on the remote ODU. PTP 650 does not provide any Layer 3 (IP or MPLS) routing capabilities. PTP 650 does not support IGP. I'm not familiar with BEP1 or BEP2; can you provide a reference? Of course, when we say that PTP 650 does not support routing, this does not prevent a wireless link from being used to provide Layer 2 transmission between routers in your network.