building a site with 2.4 ghz

Im totally new to the 2.4 ghz line. What kind of things can i expect? Any advice would be appreciated. I currently use 5 ghz and am comfortable with it. This area is polulated with trees and clear line of site for alot of sites is impossible. Im thinking the 2.4ghz line might be a better fit here. I plan on installing a 120 foot tower or 2 with a cluster of 6 epmp 1000 running 2.4ghz. I heard theres less channels available with this spectrum? 

Hello.  Yes, in 2.4Ghz, you basically have 50 Mhz of spectrum - so a LOT fewer channels. Plus, you have to deal with more interference, a LOT more interfernce too.  And, of course, those two things typically mean that the interference is more difficult to avoid by changing channels...   there is usually let places to run and hide from.

But, on the upside, 2.4Ghz will penetrate a LOT more trees, and is a good compliment to your 5ghz sectors.  Basically, if you are close and clear - conenct a guy a 5Ghz, and if he's not clear - the solutions he can choose from are A) make it clear - cut trees, raise the antenna, or B) use 2.4 ghz. 

Of course, 2.4ghz isn't magic... it's not going to shoot through a mile of trees.  It's not going to shoot through a bluff. PLUS, you need to be careful - as soon as those trees get wet, or grow or fill with ice or snow, the signal that was fine yesterday can get way, way worse suddenly. So, you need to build in enough fade margin, or a rain/snow can knock people off the air.  It's not magic.

But - all that being said, 2.4 Ghz certainly will let you reach people you can't otherwise reach with 5Ghz.

So - what we do is 4 sectors (North, South, East, West) and we do GPS Sync, 75%/25% ratio, with Frequency reuse so that we can use the same channel on N & S and the same channel on E & W.  We use 10 Mhz wide channels, and we avoid channel 6 (which is the center of the 2.4 Ghz spectrum) and that's where many, many home routers live.