epmp1000 2.4 Great Downlink, awful uplink

Hi,

I recently put up a 4 sector cluster on a cell tower.  I have KPP dual band antennas.  I've only connected a few customers.  The 5gig connections are great, but the 2 2.4ghz connections both show great downlink (79mbps) and horrible uplink (1.1mbps).  I'm using frequency reuse on back to back sectors and I have the front/back settings accordingly.  Edetect shows the opposite sector AP as the only interferer.  I'm puzzled by this.  Using Force 200 as the SM.  3.5.1 software.

Any help - I'm pretty new with ePMP.

Ryan

Hi,

For Frequency Reuse you can use Antennas with F/B(front to back) ratio not worse than 30 dB.
What is KP’s Antennas F/B ratio?

Thank you.

2 Likes

Hello rpmiller,

Synchronization set to GPS and receiving sync? Internal will not provide synchronization between the colocated APs.

Regards

2 Likes

Also what is the Subscriber Module Target Receive Level set to on the AP under Configuration->Radio?

2 Likes

Good questions all - thanks!

The KPP antenna is only 27dB F/B, so maybe that's part of the problem.  Sync is CMM4 (I'm using Packetflux gear) and working.And the target receive level is -60dBm.  I did just notice that the co-location mode under sync is disabled.  I don't know what that setting is for.  The RSSI for the subscriber in question is -50 down/-65 up.

Thanks again,

Ryan

Cell carrier interference thread

Check the link above out. The fact you have downlink at -50, but uplink at a -65 even though it is set for -60 leads me to believe you have the same problem as Chris. 

Btw, we have not been impressed with the F/B ratio of the KP single band 2.4 sectors...but, in this case, the KP's are not your problem. 

1 Like

@rpmiller wrote:

Edetect shows the opposite sector AP as the only interferer.  I'm puzzled by this.