Turning UBNT to ePMP Subscribers

True, but the part about re-licensing an AP to fix one that is down is enough to steer me away from this.  I live in lightning country, we lose AP's on a semi regular basis and we have towers that stretch a cross half the state.  You know how customers are with down time, they don't like it.  And if that time is extended because I need to get Cambium on the phone to relicense a new radio before I can even dispatch the tower crew that sounds nuts to me.  UBNT is fine until 20 customers or so for us so we are not in dire need to do something about them. We just need an AP that can handle more customers.

Cost wise, it makes more sense to me to keep both brands on each tower.  If I have a tower with 100 subscribers I'm looking at over 3 grand to make this change.  For that kind of money I can lease AP space on that tower for a year.  So for me at  atleast this is not a solution, but a gimmick.

And - they have to be careful of this.  When I first heard this, one of the questions I though was "will there be ANY performance difference between UBNT Elevated and ePMP SM's at all?"

If not, then what's to prevent new clients from simply buying a Cambium AP and continuing to purchase UBNT clients going forward?  Hopefully Cambium didn't just help the competition solve all it's problems.  :)  

So, if you think about it - if there wasn't any license fees, then what you're basically really aksing is this.  You expect to be able to buy a $200 Cambium AP (because you don't believe in the software licensing fee model - then you expect that an $200 AP LITE should also be unlimtied clietns I assume?) and then with that $200 AP, you expect to be able to upgrade all your UBNT SM's to ePMP ELEVATE with no licensing fee.