Broadband for small development

I have been asked to quote for suppy of broadband to a small development of 29 houses by a construction company. The houses are due to be built middle of next year, with first buyers living there towards the end of the year.

I have existing coverage in the area at present, but the builder would like to be able to offer ‘broadband installed’ or ‘fitted for broadband’ etc.

I would be grateful for any ideas or case studies that others know of. My thinking would lead me to three ways of tackling it

- Ask the builder to run cat5 wiring to each chimney pot, and fit canopy SM whenever we get a customer. Treat as standard customer.

- Fit a Vdsl system. I’ve no experience of this, but have read of it here and it does seem like a very elegant solution

- Wifi enable the estate and charge either a standard monthly fee or hotspot type billing.

The builder would be willing to do extra work for us, like wiring, but I will not be able to charge him as such. There will be competition from DSL so, I do not want to make a big investment with no guarantee of a return. My guess is in the region of 8-10 subscribers.

Any suggestion would be much appreciated.

Regards,

John

VDSL works in MDU/MTU where you can get to all of the building wiring on the other side of the MPOE and not violate any Tariffs. This is not possible in a single family home development.

Wireless to the desktop is sketchy at best, but it can be done. I think there is a significant investment to make sure you can cover the development correctly without knowing the number of subs you will get.

I would probably just go with individual SM’s on an as-needed basis which fits your current business model anyway. I would have the builder put in two Cat5’s to the chimney (one spare).

Comments noted. -thanks