Calling tech support

I make no bones about it, I am no expert in this industry, I have only been doing wireless for a year, and am learning on the fly.

I read manuals and utilize the web like its the crack dealer for information if information happenned to be made out of crack. But when it comes down to it, and I need a definitive answer about something, or confirmation that my understanding is correct (or moreover not even in the same ballpark), I dial tech support.

Now I do phone support for our company, and get annoyed when people call up basically wanting us to set up their home network for them under the guise of WISP tech support.

Is it the same thing with Tech support for the equipment manufacturers? Take moto for example, For Prizm alone, I bet I called tech support 30 to 40 times on various things (the first ten calls were basically them telling me I had to install everything exactly as it said, version numbers and all). Are they doing my job for me? I did need the help because i didnt have the answer. But when does calling tech support go from me needing some help to me just basically being incompetent?

With new products especially, do you guys make alot of use of tech support, or do you just already know the answers from experience?