Can I get a P8 SM talking to a P7 AP?

Hello,

This is my first attempt to do this, so I’m not sure if I’m on the right track.

I bought a P7 AP and two p8 SM’s hoping that I could serve out a connection to the SM’s via the AP. Currently, I have only the hardware, a default plug, POE adapters, and the grounding modules.

I have successfully reset the AP and SM’s to their default configs and then set them up so that they will talk to the local network via ethernet. So far, so good…

My problem is that I can’t get the SM’s to register to the AP. I can put them in spectrum scan mode, and can see that they can see the AP signal at 5750 Mhz, but they will not register. I have set the colors to the same values on both sides, but the SM’s either say they have a -1 color, or no color. There is a config page to prioritize the color settings, and I have tried different settings in there with no luck.

The AP has these specs:

Device type 5.7GHz - Multipoint - Access Point - 0a-00-3e-f0-0c-67
Software Version CANOPY 7.3.6 Oct 24 2005 12:06:56 AP-DES
Software Boot Version CANOPYBOOT 3.0
FPGA Version 051104 (DES)

The SM’s have these specs:

Device Type :
5.7GHz - Subscriber Module - 0a-00-3e-f0-d9-5a
Software Version : CANOPY 10.4 SM-DES
Software Boot Version : CANOPYBOOT 3.0
Board Type : P8
FPGA Version : 012308

I think it is an authentication issue, but I am just trying to run this AP standalone by generating it’s own sync pulses. There is a place in the P8 config to set the authentication key, but I don’t see one for the AP other than to use BAM, which I don’t have. The authentication on the SM’s is set to the default of all 0xf’s. There is no corresponding setting on the AP, although I can configure an IP address for authentication, but I’m not sure what to do with this.