CMM micro information and AP tech information....

Hey people…

I have some knowledge I need to acquire- I have been searching, and reading and have decided to just ask.

Does anybody know the pps rating for cmm, 900APs, BHs (5.7 or 5.3) and if teh pps got any better with software upgrades?

Reason being, a new problem has developed and this is where everyone is seeing crawling speeds. during the “crawling time” which has recently been all the time) I have run link tests and all are at 99 or better up and down (for BHs) with the expected throughput (7mb up and down for 5.7) and SMS to AP the usual, down better than 95% and up better than 85%. I’m trying to see if there is a bottleneck here. I have about 380 users, that eventually come through one CMM. I am going to upgrade the two main links (one to 60mb orthagon and the other to a canobeam (only about 80yds away) but for now, I want to make sure the cmms or other BHs aren’t being too saturated. Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated. I would also like anyones ideas on that short link, it’s in the middle of a city (not too big of a city only <30,000)

Another Note:, I have just upgraded the switch that links the wireless to my PPPoe (I know- I’m really working to get rid of that part) and the PPPoe is also being upgraded from 2 P2 266mhz servers running servpoet. then it’s cisco 7200 to the OC3. The switch upgrade so far (for the last 4 hours) seems to have done a good boost, up to about 2mb down and 1mb up form the first test. However, I want to continue to gather information as I have learned… never stop on the first sign of improvment :slight_smile:

Thanks for the help.

Anyone?

1. How many users per AP?
    2. Are you throttling speeds at the SM?
    3. What are you using for QoS at your headend?

I run a 600 user network on a 15/15meg pipe with no speed issues. All of the users are college students so as you can imagine they are the worst possible bandwidth hogs.