CMM Micro - Weatherproof?

I’ll start this out by saying that I’m completely new to the Canopy line of products. I am working on my first install, and I’m not terribly familiar yet with how everything works.

The very first problem I have had is that my CMM Micro had several inches of water inside it after a rather heavy rainstorm. My CMM is mounted at the base of my tower, and I only have three cables entering it… a Cat5e to uplink router, the GPS cable, and a cable for power. At the time of my problem, I didn’t even have an AP connected to the CMM yet.

All three cables have drip loops well below the entrance ports. The entrance ports themselves are locked tight around the incoming cables. The water somehow got into the CMM and royally fried everything inside. It was shut tight.

I found out I had a problem when I was preparing to connect my first AP’s ethernet cable to the CMM. I cracked open the CMM, and water came flowing out, not a good sign.

Are there some special installation precautions I need to take to ensure water doesn’t get inside? I was under the impression that the CMM was rated to be installed outdoors… in the weather!

I ended up having to replace the CMM. I installed it yesterday, placed all of my cables inside, but didn’t hook any of them up to anything— there was another storm on the way. After the rain passed on by, I opened up the CMM again. There wasn’t a lake inside this time, but I noticed that the foam seals around the door were completely saturated with water, very much like a sponge, and would drip water out if I pressed on them.

Someone, please tell me… Is there something I’m doing wrong with this installation? Are there some precautions I need to be taking to keep water out?

Thanks,
James