Considering upgrades to network, looking for suggestions

(Also posted at DSLR)-

I currently have a small municipal security video deployment running on (5) ePMP1000 GPS synced AP's on two fiber fed towers, all on 5GHz, 20MHz, 30/70% DL/UL split. (Not sure if anyone has had much luck with 40MHz channels?).

AP's are mounted at between 80 to 100 feet up, with (22) Force 180 or 200 SU's, bringing in an aggregate of about 250Mbps, 90+% all upload. Worst upload rate is at MCS12, with slightly sketchy LOS on a few.

There is now a request to nearly double the count of SU's and bandwidth, and I'm considering either overlaying with PMP450i AP's and gear (I've never worked with it before), and gradually replacing the 1000 gear, or maybe upgrading to the ePMP2000 line with beamforming antenna (according to other posts, apparently improves upload quality?).

Furthest SU's are about 1.5 miles out.

Suggestions?

Have you heard about the ePMP 3000 AP and ePMP 300-25 

https://www.cambiumnetworks.com/products/pmp-distribution/epmp-1000/

This AP will be backward compatible with the  force 180 and 200. 

ePMP2000 will help out if you're seeing interference but won't inherently improve your capacity.  As mentioned, ePMP3000 might be an answer, but looks likely to not be an available option for several more months.

You can overlay PMP450 gear atop ePMP gear, provided you use an available low-interference channel.  I don't know about setting PMP450 and ePMP sectors on the same channel and setting correctly so that they don't interefere with each other.

You can also just overlay additional ePMP APs, with the same caveat that you need to avoid interference.  (also if two sectors are ~180 degrees apart I expect you'd have a better chance of getting frequency reuse working than with PMP450 overlaid)  You can/should also look into using 40MHz channel widths - we don't do that for APs, only for BH links, but the gear appears to work great in that configuration.