Help and suggestions on triple play.

Hi everyone,

I am a systems engineer working for a private firm.

I have a customer who is interesting in providing triple play services to a remote area in Greece.

He wants to start a pilot involving a 5.4GHz AP Adv Cluster and around 170 SM Adv per AP which will give him around 1020 subscribers.

Does anyone of you know if you can deliver IPTV through canopy whith the above mentioned configuration.

My wild guess is that this is not possible mainly because IPTV with MPEG2 encoding requieres around 4Mbit of bandwidth per subscriber.

I am really interested in knowing what you think on this or if anyone knows how the delviery of Triple play can be achieved with Canopy.

Regards,

Yiannis

I considered the same options in a rural implementation and decided it was not really feasible with Canopy. (the bandwidth needs are too great)

Maybe WiMax from Redline or Alvarion would give you enough bandwidth to do 3-play via wireless…

We are actually doing the samething, unless we use mp4. Guys at IT planning said, in maximum services subscribtion, one AP only able to serve 30 SM. :?

how many channels ?

12 channels, I think. I kind of worried 'bout this interference things on Canopy OFDM… it’s effects to bandwidth really frustating…

12 channels to 170 SM’s… can’t see that happening…

I don’t think Canopy is the correct platform for this, you need a multicast based wireless system for this…

you guys got any suggestion on a specific platform to do this?
thanks…

WiMax, WiMax, WiMax.

Triple play on anything other than a licensed wide bandwidth high power platform is doomed to failure.

I agree with Jerry,

well, we made the wrong decision then… :?

mmm… I would risk disagreeing with you on that one Jerry, being in a licensed band is always a plus… (I am no expert in this, just did a little reading as we may get into this, if we get a license)