Hosting Web Servers on a Canopy Network

Hi, I am quite new to this canopy network and can say that I don’t know to much about it. I am moving to a new house and I have 2 options for broadband. Canopy and Charter. I have little trust in charter and it is very expensive.

I’m thinking about trying canopy. Currently I am using Speakeasy SDSL and hosting several websites. I am quite leary about wireless. I’m worried that I will run into things like latency and disconnects. The company offering the canopy says that none of that should be an issue. My house is literally 1/4 of a mile from the canopy tower. I am looking at a package that would be 9 mb down and 3 mb up. I will also have a static ip address.

Could anyone tell me if running web servers (where clients are paying) is not a good idea on a canopy wireless network? I would really like to try canopy but I need it to be reliable. My network will also be connecting to another network via VPN IPSEC.

Any suggestions/comments are much appreciated.

Thanks

dingo wrote:
Could anyone tell me if running web servers (where clients are paying) is not a good idea on a canopy wireless network? I would really like to try canopy but I need it to be reliable. My network will also be connecting to another network via VPN IPSEC.

All should work as expected, as long as you don't "max" your bandwidth. The hardware is very reliable, and a 1/4 mile connection should be the best possible connection.

However, whether or not your clients trust the connection is the real issue. If you are offering a 99.99% service guarantee or something of that nature, then you really should be co-locating a system where there is direct access to fibre. Also, ask your WISP whether or not they offer any guarantees for their wireless service - if they do not, then you can't.

Canopy equipment is very reliable, but at the end of the day, any wireless system no matter what make it is, is never a good as cable/fibre.