Installing and aligning BH's with Reflector Dishes

OK, so this may seem like a stupid question, but are there any tricks and hints anyone can offer in aligning 2 BH’s which will be using the Canopy reflector dishes? It is my first time doing this.

Using the dishes, my beam is narrowed down to 6 degrees, so if I got one person at each tower trying to point these to each other (9.2 miles apart) it seems to me like the window is pretty small. I can’t imagine that both people could be moving the dishes around trying to “lock onto” each other. So what is the best way to approach this? Does one side just try and eyeball it the best they can, and then the other side tries to register, and then just go back and forth doing minor adjustment to each side to get the best signal?

Also on a related note, I am confused by Motorola’s model numbers. Are the 5400BHRFDD and the 5700BHRFDD and the BP27RD all the same thing? In our case specifically, will we be able to use the same Canopy dishes that we used for our 5.7 SM’s with our 5.4 BH’s? My distributor says yes, but it is confusing.

Thank you.

In my experiences…

Assuming this is on flat ground, aim your antennas visually using field glasses. Get it spot on to the other end, it does not matter much if you are 100% aimed at the dish itself. Be sure to adjust the elevation such that you factor in that canopy reflectors normally look like they are pointing “down” more than up. This is outlined in the user manuals.