New to the site & Canopy with an important ?

Hello, I’m new to both Canopy and your forum. We have a Canopy 5.7GHz 30 Mbps Backhaul.

Software version is 5845-07-00, Hardware version is D05-R08-I.

We are trying to use it as a long distance wireless link to a cell site. The data being sent is time critical and we seem to be right on the edge of what latency our cell equipment can tolerate.

With an 8.6 Mbps link we see an average ping time of about 8.6 msec, about 1 msec of that is other equipment, so 7.6 msec is just in the wireless backhaul. This is the best ping time we could achieve running in low latency mode. Is there some way to reduce the latency? If we could get a few milliseconds back it would help quite a bit. Or do you believe that most of this latency is in modulation/demodulation of the wireless signals and there is nothing that can be done.

I would appreciate any insight into how we might reduce the latency.

Thank you

TTT

7.6 ms looks very good in this industry.

It’s also very good for todays digital cell sites, but if you need wire speed then you need a full duplex radio or FDD.

FDD Radios will give you 10 microseconds delay plus about 6 us per miles, Say you have a 50 mile link using FDD, then you would have about 40us delay total.

Remember these radios are half duplex, they transmit and receive in the same frequency. RF has gone a long way, switching to transmitter, receiving, decoding, buffering, receiving the new packets, again,and again. all in less than 10 ms!

Ah!, the specs on the BH30 is 7ms,you are asking for a few milliseconds less!

if you got the money use spectra… that will give you sub ms latency