Parasitic direction

Hello,

I went out and purchased a Packetsync parasitic was curious about how this should be implemented??

Now I’m no engineering guru so I maybe asking a dumb question here. Am I to cut holes in the bottom of the rubbers cap to get the cable to the rj-45 connector, and then figure out how I am to mount this near the AP? For 119$ I was hoping I wouldn’t have to cut things :slight_smile:

I’m also guessing this is a good deal for a GPS unit, but a manual would have been great…

Anyways after we figure this one out we will be ready for 4 more units to complete out GPS syncing.

Any advice or experiences would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

We make a small 2’ long offset bracket out of angle iron and have a ubolt on each end - one to attach to the pipe the AP is on and one to attach the parasitic to. I cut a small hole in the rubber grommet on the bottom and run all three cables through there. It works quite well. We try to keep the offset bracket aimed to the southern sky.

As for the port layout - the unit doesn’t care which cable goes in which ethernet jack. You can have the tower feed going in either one and the AP feed going in the other one. The timing cable is (obviously) the only one that has to go in a specific port.

Again, sorry for the neophytness of my questions here, although they are valid questions to me

Should we be using the timing port to gain sync or is using the power ok?

Reason I ask is b/c there wasn’t atiming cable that came with nor any instructions or manual.

Thanks again,

Tim

Yes - you will need to use the timing cable in order to provide sync to your AP. Pins 1, 3 and 6 should be the only pins you need to connect on your timing cable. Only 1 and 6 are required for sync but pint 3 will provide sync info to your APs/BHMs.