Trying to understand the different Cambium AP choices

I'm thinking of starting a WISP in the US in a hilly area with a lot of tree coverage.  I'm new to Cambium products, and I get a little confused by all the different AP models. 

Would someone mind breaking down for me the different APs, especially ones that would come in handy for non-line-of-sight environments, and pros/cons to be aware of (cost, capacity, range, number of subscribers)?

Thank you!

This is a good question.

With respect to providing broadband to subscribers, we have 3 main Point-to-Multipoint platforms. You can get a quick overview of theses here on the website. The choice of which of these to use depends on many factors. You need to determine which factors are the most important for you.

Since you mention NLOS (tree coverage), the unlicensed 5 GHz band will likely not work (maybe for very short distances, but generally not recommended for NLOS deployments). In most places in the world, this is the only frequency band available to those that don't hold licenses for other frequencies. If, however, you're located in the US, there are other options.

In the US (and Canada), 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz and 3 GHz (CBRS in the US) are able to be utilized.

For NLOS, all of these bands fare better than 5 GHz. The ePMP platform supports 2.4 and 5 GHz.

The 450 platform supports 900 MHz and 3 GHz (CBRS) in addition to 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz. Due to the physics of radio, the 900 MHz platform performs the best in NLOS situations, but the band is a mere 26 MHz wide (902-928 MHz) and is often very noisy with other equipment, but worth a look if you believe you can get a 7 or 10 MHz clean channel in your area.

3 GHz CBRS is definitely a "go-to" technology in this situation, and probably the primary direction I would point you in. You can read a lot about it here on our CBRS Microsite.

Please post further questions after having digested some of this... happy to continue the discussion.

2 Likes