'Y' Sync Cable

We have the following sintuation:

BHM—>BHS---->AP1, AP2

I have my BackHaul Master synced with a CMM. I want to “Pass” the sync to my AP1 and AP2 via the timing port.

1. What do I have to change on the BackHaul Master Configuration?
2. What do I have to change on the BackHaul Slave Configuration?
3. Does anyone have these cables pre made or can one suggest what to use to connect the wire together?

J

Set the BH Master to however it gets it’s Sync.
If you are using a CMMmicro, then set the timing to “Power Port”.
If you are using an older CMM, then set the timing to “Timing Port”.
If you have no external sync generator, then set the timing to “Generate Sync”.

Sync will pass from the BH Master to the BH Slave. You do not need to configure the Slave, it always gets sync from the Master.

From the BH Slave to the two AP’s, tie pins 1 and 6 together.

Make 3 RJ11 tails, and then join the ends together. I think I would solder, then seal the connection points. Make sure you use some type of strain relief as the solid strands can fatigue and break.

On the AP’s set the timing to “Timing Port”. If the AP’s are the same band, then configure them both identically in every way except color code and frequency. If they are in different bands, then it will not matter.

We try one time to pass sync from one BH module to two AP modules using Y cable , but it dosnt work more than few minutes!

Jasa Jovicevic
MIN@ IP
Montenegro

Ok, Is anyone SUCCESSFULLY doing this right now?

I have an AP getting sync from a CMM-2, it then syncs up a particular SM that has the sync being passed to another AP in the same 2.4 band.

2.4AP–>2.4SM–>2.4AP

Haven’t had a problem since.

clean crimps

solder the splice

make sure you are running the latest software versions for each device.

I know it’s being done.