Canopy giving Ethernet statistic errors at Full Duplex

Hi all,

I am relatively new to Canopy, however I have been involved with Tropos for some time.

We have a simple Canopy P2P using a BHM and a BHS which works. After having some problems I started looking at the statistics, and for the Ethernet statistics saw high levels of outerror counts and no carrier errors, both of which are the same value.

I created a test setup in the office and saw these errors again so started changing ethernet speeds and duplex. The errors stopped when the Canopys where set to 100Mb Half duplex.

The cables are short, about one meter. One Canopy is plugged into an unmanaged 8 port switch via a Motorola PoE. The other is plugged into a Tropos router providing PoE via a cross over cable. This is the same for the live installation too. I get errors on both Canopys.

Should I be able to use full duplex?

I am running 8.1.5-BH DES PLD version 9. I think the live units are running 8.1.4-BH DES.

TIA

Are they P10 units? If not try downgrading them to 7.1.4 and look at the results again.

They are all P10 units. The live units are running 8.1.4-DES and my test units are running 8.1.5-DES.

I ran some throughput tests as we have decided to run at 100TX-HD. These results are from my test setup, running nuttcp between to SUSE 10.2 machines. These figures are really only for comparison. Ethernet interface changed on both master and slave units:

100TX-HD 3.4720mb/s
100TX-FD 3.4634mb/s
10TX-HD 2.6680mb/s
10TX-FD 0.2340mb/s

I was looking for any significant impact when changing to 100TX-HD and found it marginally quicker. I doubt I will be running any more tests to see if the switch or Tropos router used in the test setup is causing the low throughput at 10TX. The Canopy’s have only a 10Mb/s link, 5mb/s HD, 3.5mb/s effective HD so didn’t expect such low figures with the ethernet interface set at 10TX.

Has anyone else run similar tests?