CMM Routing?

I’m a newbie to the Canopy products. My organization uses 4 20Mbit 5.7Ghz point-to-point Backhauls to connect to 4 remote locations to our network.

I am using routers to help keep local traffic at the sites local and reduce the amount of traffic across the wireless links. All 4 radios point back to one main site where the Canopy CMM is located. I’m having a routing issue because of the CMM.

Regardless of the details of the routing issue, my question is: Is it possible to bypass the CMM and plug radios into my network directly. I have a network that is moving routed traffic that runs into this CMM which from what I can tell acts as a hub. If the CMM is necessary, is there any way to make the CMM routable?

Thanks for any kind of suggestions.

>If the CMM is necessary, is there any way to make the CMM routable?

The CMM typically provides power-over-Ethernet to the units, as well as GPS timing to keep the radios synchronized (prevent interference). I would recommend keeping the CMM in the loop.

The CMM is a layer 2 Ethernet switch, so it does not have routing functions.

If you could elaborate on your specific issue, maybe with a logical & physical diagram, we can surely get you fixed up.

The following diagram is a simplified view of the problem I’m having. I just threw this together so sorry if it is not clear.

The “before” diagram shows the layout of the network with some older Cisco wireless equipment (I’m not sure of the exact equipment as I’ve inherited this problem and can’t find much documentation.) The two radios plugged directly into the back of the routers.

After the upgrade to the Canopy radios, the CMM was thrown into the mix. The Canopy radios are now plugged into the CMM and the existing routers are both plugged into the CMM (which I realize doesn’t make much sense).