CNUT on Linux other than Red Hat

I have built a Mepis Linux Box that I would like to install CNUT on. I am fairly new to Linux, but I am muddling through reasonably well.

I have tried to install the CNUT, however I get the following error:

Do you accept the terms of this license (yes/no)?
yes
Installing the networkupdater-1.00.r1-1 RPM package on this system.
Please wait…

Error: An error was encountered while installing this package.
A log has been generated at /tmp/networkupdater-1.00.r1-1.i386.log.

Logfile:
rpm: To install rpm packages on Debian systems, use alien. See README.Debian.
error: cannot open Packages index using db3 - No such file or directory (2)
error: cannot open Packages database in /var/lib/rpm

I am running Java
java version "1.4.1"
Java™ 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build Blackdown-1.4.1-01)
Java HotSpot™ Client VM (build Blackdown-1.4.1-01, mixed mode)

Do I need a diferent version of CNUT? Do I have to run Red Hat? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

I myself have tried to install CNUT on debian, mandrake, and gentoo. I have gotten the files installed and I can get the CNUT to open. I can even add update packages. But I cannot update units. I get an error saying “package could not be loaded”.

For debian systems you have to extract the rpm off the end of the shell script. If you cannot accomplish this on your own I would reccommend just installing it on redhat, because the steps after that become much more complicated (including the custom writing of many scripts for a debian based system).

Matt

Ah, just as I suspected. Well I guess I’ll be rebuilding that Win2k box…

Thanks,
Jerry

Brutal. Anyone have a procedure laid out for use with Debian?

I can’t believe that otherwise I’ll have to use Windows somehow… my policy is “no Windows on the Internet” and I really don’t want to change that.