ePMP 4525 - A nightmare to do pre-install evaluations with

I am still new to ePMP equipment as I have only used either Canopy PMP100, AirmaxM or AirmaxAC gear for PtMP. I am evaluating ePMP 4000 series and have found the ePMP 4525 SM radios to be a nightmare to do field configurations and pre-install evaluations with.

Our standard process right now with AirmaxAC is to always do a pre-install live signal check evaluation at the customer site. This helps us determine which tower they can see or not see and which AP on the tower is best. It also lets us know the RSSI and the modulation rates of the device. As most experienced installers know RSSI is not the end all of determining if the link is a good one or not.

On AirmaxAC it is very simple to do. I have all our APs set with the same long random WPA2 key that is then stored in our default SM configuration file. All we then have to do for installing is customize the device name and any other network settings and then just change the SSID to the AP from the pre-install survey. For UI gear the SSID is separate from the WPA2 key in the device.

For pre-install evaluations we just use a portable battery pack to power the SM via 24v POE and then connect to the SM’s built-in wifi management radio. From there I use either the GUI or their mobile app (UISP) to login to the SM and then run the Site Survey tool. It then lists the RSSI of the seen APs which I then select the one I want to test with. It shows me a screen then with the new SSID and the WPA2 key which I can then keep the same as already programmed in the SM or change it if needed. I then apply the change and the SM comes up on the selected SSID and I can do signal, modulation, and alignment tests.

Conversely on ePMP 4525 it is not anywhere close to that simple and it actually is probably the most non-user friendly as it can be.