Epmp3k vs ltu rocket

I am planning to start the deployment of a wisp network in the coming few weeks.  I've talked to a couple wisp operators and they both say they are very pleased with ubnt equipment.  I've tried to contact cambium a couple times but i've never recieved any response so I started looking seriously at ubnt and I see that they have basically two options for access points, the airmax ac and the ltu rocket.  I don't really care much for the airmax ac for a few reasons.  The build quality, especially of the antennas, just doesn't look that great or clean.  The radios themselves are so inexpensive that I just can't imagine they would perform as good as the e3k.  But I have no experience to back this up and i've heard good and bad about both ubnt and cambium.  The lack of any response to a business who potentially could spend around a 100k on their products over a few years isn't very encouraging either.  I've never tried to contact ubnt so I don't know how their customer support is.  Either way, the newest AP from ubiquiti is the LTU rocket which certainly seems like it would be a great product if it does what they say it will.  It's new enough that there isn't very much data on how it performs in the real world but the few reveiws i've read say that it is very susceptible to interference and that the range is quite limited.  I've heard that the e3k regularly provides links over 8 miles or so.  I don't know why this would be, and I'm not sure if it can be fixed with firmware or not.  I've heard that cambium has a poorer quality user interface that ubnt but I'm not sure if this has changed.  What are your thoughts?  I want to build a quality network and I am willing to make the larger investment to use cambium but only if it is worth it.  Thanks!

2 Likes