IP Addressing

Hi,

A canopy noob here and one who got tasked with evaluating the different vendor options for a wisp so please dont judge too harshly at my silly questions.

I am trying to determine the IP addressing scheme of the actual setup, therefore what devices in a WISP solution would require an ip address.

I presume that the AP would as well as the BH but would the SM too?

If the SM does require it, would it be placed on the ethernet interface, with the router behind it using the SM ip as the “default-gateway”?

Also can you assign an IP address from the BAM server when the user authenticates and tries to retrieve an IP address via DHCP and if so, is there a facility to assign IP ranges to it.

One last question, honest :smiley: .

If the subscriber was to perform a traceroute from their PC, would they see the Canopy IP addresses or does it act at layer 2 from the perspective of the end user.

Cheers for any help given.

H

CANOPY ADDRESSES:

All Canopy units – AP, SM, & BH – are assigned an IP address of 169.254.1.1 as the factory default. When installed, every unit should be assigned a unique address within a private addressing structure – 10.x.x.x, 172.16.x.x-172.31.x.x, or 192.168.x.x – chosen by the installer. This is the IP address used for managing and configuring the Canopy units.

A public IP addressing structure can also be used, but there is an issue with the Canopy web interface that can cause it to lock up when bombarded with either legitimate ping requests or outside hacker attacks. Motorola recommends using private addresses.

APs and BH-Masters must have a unique IP address assigned, but it’s optional for SMs and BH-Slaves. SMs and BHSs can also be accessed through their associated AP or BHM, via both web and telnet interfaces, using what Canopy calls an “RF Private Interface”.