Newbie question

I apologize for throwing this up without more complete searching.

I was recently (2 days ago) told to go install the Canopy at a construction site for the sites supervisor trailers. I have no experience with the Canopy solution and have managed to get the AP up and 6 SM’s without much issue. I have changed the color codes and set the frequency, but now I am running into a question I can’t answer. How do I configure or verify that only the SM’s I want to connect to the AP, connect to the AP? The site wants to make sure that a competitive builder can’t buy a SM and point it at the AP and get connectivity :? . What is the best way to ‘lock down’ the availability?

Thanks,
dan

Once all your SM’s are connected, login to the AP and select the Option for “Disable SM Privacy Scan”. I believe that is what it is called. This will prevent an SM from using its “AP Eval” Option to scan the airwaves for Canopy AP’s.

This will make it fairly difficult for anyone else to register an SM with your system. They have a limited number of frequencies they could try, and succeed via trial-and-error, but they also need to know the Color Code which makes for more combinations.

I still think Canopy needs to implement a MAC Address authentication algorithm in their APs. This way you could enter a list of Permitted MAC Addresses in the AP page and only those can connect. However, MAC addresses are easily spoofed, but it would still make for one more layer of security.

The other option would be to purchase the BAM software which essentially does the MAC authentication I speak of, but runs on a server as a software application as opposed to being integrated into the firmware of an AP.

You could install a subscriber gateway. This would go between the AP and the router, or in some cases replace the router.