Overlapping RF

Hello,

Was wanting to get details on overlapping 900Mhz frequencies please.

I have read on the forums that there is an issue but couldn’t find details.

I know this much, 906, 915, and 924 don’t overlap with others in the same band or each other I think.

We have 8 sites with 2 of those site have 3 AP’s with overlapping frequencies. 1 site is using 906,913, and 920. The other site has 906,907, and 915.

I think there maybe another issue with some of our sites overlapping over range. For instance, we have a site that is broadcasting 919 (360 degree) with a range of 7 miles and another AP at 916 that has a range of 4 miles (60 degree) and thay are within a few miles apart. Another overlapping situation example we have is a 915 AP at 6 miles and a 916 AP at 7 miles, and they are both 360 degree and they are only 5 miles apart.

I am new to the company I work for and they have put me in charge of there wireless troubleshooting and there network for wireless was setup a few years ago and I don’t think it was setup that well and there is alot of changes that need to be made b/c of problems and I am wondering if this os one of them…

Thanks in advance.

Welcome to the forum.

Start with reading the manual. much of what you need to know is in there.

A few things to search and read on this forum.

GPS timing
Balancing RF Levels
Self Interference

To get you going in the right direction:
Every 900MHz radio in your network needs to have GPS timing (sync). CMM, CMMmicro, SyncPipe, Last Mile CTM, etc. sync is the magic sauce that make Canopy work.

There are 3 non overlapping channels 906, 915, 924. Using any other combination will result in self interference.

Every 900MHz AP that can hear another 900MHz AP needs to be configured with the same # Control Slots, Max Distance, and Downlink %. Alternately you can use the Frame Calculator Tool to determine alternate configurations (see manual) but it gets messy.