Please read this and see if you can help with my problem

A question for some of you hardcore moto guys…

I have been running the Canopy system for the last 2 years just in the last couple weeks i have had a few problems.

1. I was getting huge network spikes every 15 seconds for about 5 seconds (ping 169.254.1.** would return on normal of 1-5ms but during spikes 400-complete packet loss). I spent 2 days dicking around with it…even had the tech support guys help me for hours at a time. The solution then was we had 1 customer who was I guess attacking the canopy network. After we took him offline everything went right.

2. in the last couple days I was seeing simular signs of a network attack, I have it narrowed down to about 70 customers off of one access point. I have taken some people off line that seemed to make the latency a lot less. However i would still see spikes all the way up to 13%loss of packets.

Does anyone know a fix for this or have seen simular activity?

Could it be worm? and if so is there any software i can buy to sniff and correct it over the Canopy network?

Any help on this would be awesome…Thanks

Also im using the 5.2ghz and on the site that i am having issues with there are 2 AP’s with a cmm and gps timing. checked the gps status and everything looks good.

Potential causes:

1. Virus on a machine of a customer
2. Worm on a machine of a customer
3. Spamming (aware or unaware)
4. FILE SHARING (sucking up all your bandwidth)

You say you have it narrowed down to 70 customers on one potential access point. I would suggest taking down that access point during a maintenance hour one night (assuming the customers won’t jump on another adjacent AP if the color codes are the same) and see if the packet loss disappears. Perhaps you already did this and that is how you determined it was possibly X number of customers on a certain access point.