PMP network in mesh

Good day. I am new to Cambium hardware. I am trying to design a system with about 20 radios (subscriber modules) that need to communicate with a central access point around a radius of about 1-3km. The problem is that the 20 subscriber modules have to be moved from time to time and there is a chance that one (or more) might not be able to see the central access point any more. Is there a way with Cambium PMP radios (like the epmp 3000) to be configured to operate as a ‘mesh’ or repeater? (if a radio loses line-of-sight with the main access point, it can still work through another close-by subscriber model that CAN see the main access point)

Thys,

Welcome to the Cambium community!

Cambium’s ePMP, or the PMP450 product line, does not support subscriber module (SM) mesh. The system architecture is purely hub and spoke - AP communicates with SM’s only.

There are some things that you can do to facilitate NLOS operation, however. I recommend using ePMP 4500 AP’s for 5 GHz. Use Force 400C SM’s if you want a connectorized SM and use your own antennas, or use Force 425 for an SM with an integrated 25 dBi antenna. These units are also availble with a range extender option, which increases antenna gain by nearly 3 dBi. These devices use IEEE 802.11ax protocol, which has multipath mitigation techniques built in to handle some NLOS. Results operators are seeing is quite impressive.

Previous ePMP models, such as the ePMP 3000 use 802.11ac protocol, which has less immunity to multipath, and requires LOS for proper operation.