Poor signal PMP 450i 900 MHz

We have several installations of PMP 450i APs running 900 MHz that have terrible signal quality to all attached customers. Obviously we are not doing something correctly. Our firm has 10+ years experience with PMP 100 in 900 MHz, so not complete noobs, but, as I've said, something isn't right. I can upload any requested files or additional information. Please direct me as to where to start.

Thank you,

Todd Wilson

Superior iNET

The first things I would look at are spectrum scans from the locations of your 450i installations.  If there is interference, everything will suffer.

You can adjust channel sizes, frequency, etc. to alleviate this.  If you are colocating with PMP 100, there are several resources that can help you.

Start with this white paper.

Are you using the Cambium's OEM antennas for the AP and client? We've had mixed luck with these antennas for 900. We've been using KP's antennas and have had much better luck. We had two sites that we tried using the OEM 60deg antenna and we kept having re-regs, low modulation, probably because of farming SCADA in the area. We switched both sectors out with KP 13dBi 18" flat panel antennas (KPPA-900DP-FP), and although they're almost half the beamwidth as the Cambium OEM's, they perform well in the same target area and we went up 2-3 modulation levels on every client. We then swapped out the lowest performing clients with the KP 17dBi yagi's (KPPA-900DPY17) and now both sites are doing great.

1 Like

Eric,

Thanks for the reply! We too are using KP Performance sectors in 90 degrees. We are using the Cambium yagis on the SMs. (Cambium Networks - N009045D003A - PMP450i 900MHz 12 dBi gain Dual Slant Directional Yagi Antenna)

T.

1 Like

All this information would be way easier to process if you just posted inline images that were the correct orientation.

1 Like

1. We are not running PMP 100 equipment at this site. Just PMP 450i. No other provider is at the site.