PTP 820S MGNT Port Disabled Backdoor Not Working

I’m fairly new to Cambium equipment, but have been in the process of converting our AirFibers over to licensed PTP 820S radios.

My first link has been running successfully now for a few weeks, so I got started on our second set of 820S. While doing the config, I inadvertently set the ADMIN status of the Management port to DOWN.

I do not have in-band managements enabled so I started looking into options. I came across the 820S Backdoor procedure and tried it with no luck. So I reached out to Cambium and they sent me the same procedure to try, again with no luck.

I made the Protection Crossover Cable numerous times, had a colleague make one, verified all crossover pairs are correct with multiple cable testers, tried multiple IP addresses and subnet masks, but nothing worked to access 192.0.2.1.

Protection Cable Pin-out:
- Side A Pin 1 with Side B Pin 4
- Side A Pin 2 with Side B Pin 5
- Side A Pin 3 with Side B Pin 7
- Side A Pin 6 with Side B Pin 8

I get both orange and green link lights on the computer side, and just orange on the radio side in the MGMT port. Cambium now says my only option is to RMA the radio which will take months.

As a side note, I tired this on my second (still accessible) 820S and the backdoor procedure did not work on it either, so the problem isn’t locked to just one radio.

Anyone have an suggestions? Below are a few IP address I’ve set my PC to with no luck pinging, SSH, or GUI access to the Protection IP address.

I’ve also tried 192.0.2.3 and 192.0.2.10 per Cambium’s suggestion with all the above subnet masks and no luck accessing the Protection mode.

After talking with another Cambium technician, it appears that when you set the ADMIN state to DOWN, it renders the backdoor procedure unavailable as it entirely shuts down the management side of that port.