SOFTWARE 6.1 NON-ADVANTAGE CLARIFICATION

All,

I watched the replay of the 6.1 session held on Thursday and I have a question for anyone who is able to answer it. We have a network of ALL 5.7 NON-ADVANTAGE units. According to the presentation, one of the features of release 6.1 for NON-ADVANTAGE products is MIR on a PER SUBSCRIBER level, instead of ONLY at the AP as in previous versions. Does this mean that I can cap customers upload and download speeds on a per SM basis?

They mention MIR and CIR and I got very confused. They even tried to explain the difference at one point but I think they just added to the confusion for all of us. As an example, if I tell a customer that they can have 1Mbps download and 800Kbps upload, am I able to do this using the MIR settings that come in Release 6.1?

Thanks in advance.

First off I am just getting into to this business so the following comments represent what I understand, but may not be correct.

As I understand it the Canopy product line always, at least recent versions, provided the ability to limit/control the bandwidth a subscriber used. To do this required the BAM software.

The 6.1 software allows you to set the MIR and CIR via a WEB page entry on the SM with out the use of the BAM software.

The MIR is the Maximum Information Rate. This was basically the setting provided and controlled by the BAM software in previous versions. This setting limited the subscriber to a specific amount of bandwidth, but did not guarantee that the subscriber would be provided with this amount of bandwidth.