Towers??

Hello everyone;

I am brand new to this racket and as such have a lot to learn ! My first interest is in learning all I can about the installation and proramming of these units ( have found this group to be most helpful in this regard - Thanks). Have only been with a company for a couple of weeks and already I find a problem :frowning: The toweres we are using are a free standing Titan, which I believe to be ineffective in the job they are expected to do. These are a 92’ tower which we load with no less than three sectors and a back haul - already we have had towers crack and bolts loosen. Can any of you lend an experienced hand, and give me some info on what you are using for towers, and whether or not we are using a tower of significent strenght (we are in eastern Canada where winds frequently reach 100km + . Would really appreciate some feed back on this ie. is there any tricks to give the existing towers more strength - any input at all would be most appreciated. Thanks and best regards - Gordie

I’m based in Nebraska and we see around 50mph winds sustained on a regular basis. As far as the structures that I use for deploying new hardware, I tend to stick more towards grain elevators. Here they average about 300ft high, with a 50 ft or so flat platform and guardrails. We nebraskan’s are subject most to north and south winds.

I mostly use 900 mhz motorola canopy advantage due to the nlos applicability. For the antenna’s I use the 8ft MTI for omni-directional broadcasting. I situate the omni north and south to reduce wind load from those respective directions.

I guess it varies greatly due to the environment, and what you have to work with as far as structures for mounting the hardware necessary. Wind balancing and sturdy stand-offs for your antenna’s are a must, especially with your winds reaching those speeds.