web interface inaccessable on backhaul

Software Version : CANOPY 7.1.4 Apr 26 2005 11:07:45 BH-DES
Software Boot Version : CANOPYBOOT 3.0
FPGA Version : 051104
FPGA Features : Single, 40MHz ExtBus, DES, Type0
Frequency Band : 5.2GHz
Hardware Platform : 8
Hardware Minor Revision : 0

This is my first attempt to use canopy gear. I have found the web interface works after a power up, but if I leave it alone for a while, it becomes inaccessable. At first it says web page found, but nothing happens, then on subsequent tries it says can’t be reached.

The units continue to pass data, and can be pinged and telneted into. If they are rebooted from telnet, the web interface becomes available again for a little while.

The units are on public IPs if that makes any difference.

Any ideas?

Yes, there is a open issue for the HTTP lockup. The current work around is to set your IP to a private, non Internet routable address. An example would be 10.0.0.1.

Is it possible to do anything other than reboot the unit from the telnet interface to bring the http interface back on line?

I gather this is not something that is going to be fixed soon right? I’m trying to figure out of these will be suitable for my system, and not having public access for remote management would require more complex solutions I’m not sure I’m up for.

I understand that giving your infrastructure a routable address is easier however you open yourself up to every curious eye on the Internet. I would suggest that your infrastructure be on a private network. Could you possibly set up VPN access to get into your devices remotely? (I am not referring to just Canopy when I say infrastructure)

See my post about the web interface in the “Suggestion” section of this forum.