What do you do if client wants to capture emails for marketing

Hi everyone,

I am new to Cambium and just finding my way around. What do Cambium installers/MSP’s typically do when clients want to capture emails for marketing?

The basic portal fields don’t really offer enough. There are limited data protection and validation features and no options to integrate with email marketing platforms like Mailchimp etc

I ask because we are considering building a professional guest portal service for Cambium.

Is the current solution good enough or is there a demand for something more custom?

Thanks

Well… you have to remember that everyone has been told for years not to give out their information on public Internet.

Every other add is about buying a VPN to protect your privacy.

Then there is the whole… how do you actually monetize it once you use it.

So I had to work on one of those jobs with one of those Email collecting services…
They swore they could capture all sorts of stuff like DEMOGRAPHICs… not just statistics and usage…

So you had to give them an email address to use the wifi.
1/2 the people I watched would just go back to cellular. Which tracks with that whole privacy thing.

But then I got a look at the visitors emails…
I was surprised how many returning users there were.
I mean [censored-expletive-filled-list-of-fake-email-addresses] all made multiple visits a month some times even the same day!

1 Like

@Springs Thanks for the reply

If emails like the ones you mentioned are getting repeat access then the portal is not doing its job right

It is quite a common request for restaurants with UniFi networks. Customer data is invaluable for getting repeat business and online orders

I just assumed that it would be the same for Cambium

It was a few different things.
Purple was one.
Something about red something or other.
Another one that reminded me of cards???

They were all marketing companies and they had a good pitch.