what type of Cat 5 are you using

I am still getting started here and was wondering what type of Cat5 you guys are using. Are you using Shielded cables, or just plain Cat5E?

I was looking around and discovered just how expensive Shielded Cat5e is…wow.

anyway, i was just wondering what is/isn’t working with canopy when it comes to cabling.

I’m sure that any Canopy user, and especially the Canopy Support Team, will tell you that shielded cable is NECESSARY on all radio tower installations. There’s enough interference on a tower that the shielded cable will actually be required for a clean install to avoid interference that can greatly reduce your bandwidth speeds. I don’t think shielded cable is necessary for client installations (like on customer homes) because they are normally in clean areas away from considerable amounts of RF.

shielded cable is rather expensive, but well worth the expense.

I would also like to know if people have had problems using unshielded CAT-5 on tower sites. I am not using any sheilded cable, just outdoor (flooded) cable for my tower installations. My longest runs are about 260’, and most of my runs are < 170’ , so maybe this helps me avoid a lot of interference. I also use outdoor cable on every customer site, at least for the exposed runs.

I am having Non-RF related trouble with non-shielded cableing. My enterprising employers are frugile (polite).
I am experiencing trouble with the Cat5 “vertical” non shielded cable purchased for a 140’ radio tower application. To be used for GPS syn only. No RF issue, just incosistent readings during testing, bad line?
1) Test equipment readings. Good, then bad. Check again bad, then good. No changes made, values should remain same? Yes, batteries are new.
2) Maybe it’s our test equipment? The found on ebay at 99cents line testing equipment Motorola values at $129.99 and includes in starter packages are junk!