Canopy & SNMP

Ok, so i have been playing with Canopy and SNMP for about a week now. I Started with basic communication to and from the subscriber modules using SNMP which turned out to be a success.

Then after some time i realized that i wanted to extract data such as session count, and rssi for us to monitor the quality of the network. In theory you would have to extract the info from the Access Point, by selecting the LUID, then the info that you want. But after many hours of playing around with the snmp of the AP, i have not yet archived anything.

any suggestions would be greatly appreciated :wink:

Cheers.

Use CactiEZ (http://www.cactiusers.org/)

Frothingdog.ca wrote:
Use CactiEZ (http://www.cactiusers.org/)

I’m sorry I forgot to mention that I am a Programmer, and am writing a program that will communicate with the module / ap via SNMP, and write the collected data (info about rssi, Jitter, etc etc) into a database. I have it all working, it is just when trying to communicate with an access point that I get problems, selecting the next LUID using SNMP.

I have looked into Cacti, and used the MRTG as well as the PRTG, but they both did not do what is required which is why I am writing the server side application.

I’ve run into the same problem, but I have not had time to resolve it. The metric that I really want to track is reregs. I was hoping that with Prizm and v8 that may be put together for us, but it does not appear so as of yet. Having had no luck with SNMP, my next option was to do a screen scrape from the AP. The problem with that, of course, is that it will have to be recoded for the different versions of firmware. At least V7 vs V8. I’ll try to look into it and see if I have any other bright ideas…

What language are you writing in?

I know that what you are doing can be done. I will ask the guy doing it to post here.