Fiber Up Tower

Looking at the PMP450m.  What is everyone doing for fiber up tower and how are you doing it?

josh from jade communications here.

we buy shielded fiber from FS.com and then plug into the optical port of 450m. it's worked out GREAT so far

2 Likes

Hello, 

We have been using Ubiquiti's pre-term LC/LC SM fiber. HERE. They sell it in 100, 200, and 300 ft. lengths, pre-terminated 6-count cable. Jacket is tough enough that if someone steps on it on the tower or drops a wrench on it, we don't need to worry about breaking glass up there and costly truck rolls to climb. 

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Power it via POE? and GPS? If I go 400' up I'm curious if that'll work. 

Hi! I am really new with PMP450.

In this case we use all the interface of the AP like this?

PSU: Power over Eth

AUX: Sync GPS

SFP: Fiber

I am a little lost in who is asking what questions in this thread... just to be clear though, the maximum length supported for each interface is as follows:

PoE (Main Data/Power port): 100m (300')

GPS via Ethernet or 3.5mm headphone jack: 35m (120')

SFP (optical): This can vary depending on the type of fiber used, but typical for multi-mode fiber is 100 Mbit/s for distances up to 2km (100BASE-FX), 1 Gbit/s up to 1000m, and 10 Gbit/s up to 550m.

1 Like

Is there a workable way to power it when the radio is, say, 500ft from connection point?  Communications are fine at that distance using fiber, but what about powering it??  There's no DC input AFAIK...

j

@CambiumMatt wrote:

GPS via Ethernet or 3.5mm headphone jack: 35m (120')

Hi, 

what if tower is higher? 
Should we buy one cnPulse every two 450m?

Thank you

@newkirk wrote:

Is there a workable way to power it when the radio is, say, 500ft from connection point?  Communications are fine at that distance using fiber, but what about powering it??  There's no DC input AFAIK...